Chocolate Protein French Toast Sandwich

Hello everyone! I haven’t posted in a little while, but I’m back and at it with another recipe today!

But before I get to that, I want to tell you something really exciting (well, for me at least! :P) After this past school year I decided to transfer colleges to the state university in my town. I’ve been wanting to go to the gym there for the past month and a half or so and I finally went this morning with my brother! (He he goes to school there too). I’ve been going to the local YMCA since the beginning of the summer because I didn’t realize that I already have access to my school’s gym (because I got my ID about a month ago). The reason it took awhile to try out my school’s gym was because I really wanted to go with my brother the first time, and our schedules finally cooperated today! Anyway, I absolutely lovelovelove this gym! It’s fabulous and I cannot wait to go back!

But before I went to the gym I needed to properly fuel up. 🙂 I decided to make some french toast for my pre-workout breakfast. It turned into a Chocolate Protein French Toast Sandwich! So now what you’ve all (hopefully) been waiting for: the recipe!

20140722-144804-53284916.jpg

Ingredients:

For French Toast:

  • 1/4 cup Milk of Choice (I used skim because it’s what we had on hand)
  • 4 tbsp. Egg Whites
  • 8 drops Dark Chocolate Stevia
  • Cinnamon, to taste
  • 2 slices of Sprouted 7-Grain Bread (like Ezekiel bread), or bread of choice (I used Trader Joe’s brand)

For Sandwich Filling:

  • 2 tbsp. Nonfat Plain Greek Yogurt
  • 1 tbsp. Chocolate Brownie Protein Powder
  • 5 drops Dark Chocolate Stevia
  • Cinnamon, to taste
  • 1/2 Ripe Banana

For Topping:

  • Walden Farms Pancake Syrup
  • Cinnamon

Chia and Flax Seeds

Other Items:

  • Pan or skillet
  • Coconut oil, for greasing the pan

Directions:

  1. Heat pan/skillet on the stove at medium heat. Grease pan with coconut oil.
  2. Soak each slice of bread in the mixture (everything listed in the french toast ingredients above) for 1 minute on each side.
  3. Cook (on medium heat or a little higher) for 2-3 minutes on each side.
  4. While keeping an eye on the french toast, mix together your filling (except banana).
  5. Once the french toast is done cooking, spoon the filling on one slice of french toast and add the banana and second piece of toast.
  6. Cut in half (very messily :P) and top with your toppings.

Savor and enjoy the deliciousness of the french toast because it’ll be gone before you know it!

20140722-144937-53377731.jpg

I really hope you guys try this recipe out! If you do, let me know what you think! 🙂

What are your favorite flavors/things to add to french toast?

Leave a Reply

