Vanilla Almond Coconut Oatmeal

What a busy day yesterday was! We had a wedding to go to in the afternoon, but even my morning was quite packed! Although I can’t complain considering it included an hour and a half pedicure. 🙂
To fuel up for the start of my day I decided to make a hearty bowl of oatmeal! If you know me really well, then you know that a lot of the time when I make food, I have a hard time choosing between things to add into said food/recipe. So most of the time my solution is to add it all! 😛 Needless to say, this bowl of oats kept me full for hours!
20140713-081054-29454966.jpg
This oatmeal didn’t really have any extravagant tastes, but it was simple and satisfying. Yes there’s probably a lot of fat in this recipe BUT it’s the good fats — the fats your body likes! Bonus! And before I forget, the coconut water and Greek Yogurt makes the texture of this oatmeal amazing. I absolutely adore adding both to my oatmeal. 🙂 I can’t think of the exact word right now to describe the texture, but the best I can think of now is creamy. Delicious and wonderful and creamy. The best.
Since I’ve been going on and on about the recipe, I have a small inkling that you may want the recipe, so here it is!

Ingredients:
•~1/2 of a Very Ripe Banana
•1/2 cup Rolled Oats (I got organic rolled oats from the local Co-op)
•3/4 cup Coconut Water
•1/4 tsp Pure Vanilla (or vanilla extract)
•1/4 cup Plain Greek Yogurt
•2 tbsp Unsweetened Shredded Coconut
•1 tbsp Coconut Oil
•1 tbsp Raw Almonds
•1 tsp Chia Seeds (optional)
•1 tsp Flax Seeds (optional)
•Cinnamon, to taste

Directions:
1. Add first four ingredients to a microwave safe bowl and microwave for about 90 seconds (depending on your microwave strength).
2. Add the rest of the ingredients, and now you’re good to go! Have at it!

2 thoughts on “Vanilla Almond Coconut Oatmeal

Leave a Reply

