Strawberry Rhubarb Oatmeal

Strawberries and Rhubarb. One of the most genius, delicious flavor combinations to exist on planet earth. No lies. I recently discovered this when I was on Pinterest browsin’ around like any other time I’m on there. After a few minutes of looking through my feed, I came upon a pin linked to a recipe for a strawberry rhubarb smoothie. Unfortunately, when I decided I wanted to make it as a snack the day after, I found that I couldn’t find the pin anymore! Sad day.
But hey, I wasn’t just simply going to let that ruin my fun! After all, the real fun is found in experimenting! So that’s just what I did! I can’t remember all the ingredients I put in the smoothie, but the basics were frozen strawberries, fresh rhubarb, skim milk, and yogurt. And then of course all the add-ins! In my opinion, smoothies are usually never as fun without the add-ins. 🙂
Here is the smoothie in all its gloriousness:
20140613-122959-44999862.jpg

Now, to the decadent Strawberry Rhubarb Oatmeal! Since I enjoyed the flavor of my smoothie so much, I knew exactly what I wanted after my workout this morning: Strawberry Rhubarb oatmeal, of course! Since I just made this this morning, the ingredients are still fresh in my head. Which means recipe!
So here you have it!
Ingredients:
•1/2 of a large, ripe banana (mashed)
•1/2 cup of oats
•Milk of choice — I used skim (unmeasured)
•Nonfat plain Greek yogurt (I used Fage)
•3-5 Strawberries (cut up)
•1/4-1/2 Stalk of Rhubarb (cut up)
•Walden Farms Pancake Syrup
•Walden Farms Marshmallow Fluff
•Hemp Seeds
•Chia Seeds
•Unsweetened Shredded Coconut
•Cinnamon

Directions:
1. Mash up banana in the bowl with a fork.
2. Add in oats and milk.
3. Microwave for about 90 seconds (times will vary depending on the microwave).
4. Mix in Greek yogurt.
5. Top with strawberries, rhubarb, Pancake Syrup, Marshmallow Fluff, chia and hemp seeds, unsweetened shredded coconut, and cinnamon! (In no particular order).
My oatmeal pre-mixing:

20140613-124256-45776365.jpg

Aaaaaand post-mixing (looks like mush, but tastes like heaven in an oat-sized bowl):

20140613-125427-46467941.jpg

Let me know if you try this and how you like it! 🙂
What’s your favorite oatmeal combination(s)?

Leave a Reply

