Starting Fresh

Before I start getting into what this post is actually primarily about, I just want to get this out of the way: I’m terrible at starting out blog posts. I don’t know, I just don’t have a knack for it I guess! I’m at least trying to get better at the whole blogging thing in general at least! Haha.

 

Okay, but now to what this post is about.

 

I’ve been struggling lately as far as eating/food/exercise/rest days go. I’ve been making my rest days into active ones where I do some form of exercise despite the fact that it’s a rest day. I know active rest days are perfectly fine to have, but even when I know my body needs a complete rest day I would still do some form of exercising or working out. The reason for this being that I eat a lot because I’m very active in general, and I would always feel guilty if I ate as much as I did on a normal day where I work out. Next, I’ve had a increasingly negative relationship with food, whether healthy or not. After almost anything or anytime I ate I would feel guilty because I would feel like I ate too much. What I know, but couldn’t really get engrained in my head was that food is fuel and my body needs that fuel.

Now, onto my workouts. For the last five months or so, I’ve been spending more time weight training and lifting, and a little less cardio. Before, my workouts would consist of at least 40-50(+) minutes of cardio (usually running), and 15 (maybe 20) minutes of stuff in the weight room. But over the past five months, I’ve decreased the cardio a bit, and increased my time in the weight room up to about 40ish minutes. I could never get myself to decrease the cardio even more because I was afraid that I wouldn’t be satisfied with my workout and the results from it (aka how many calories I burned). Although, I know that with my age and height, I really don’t need to be doing that much cardio. But I just couldn’t get myself to limit or lighten up on the cardio.

So as of yesterday, I have decided to make a change. A fresh start. Because I really need one. I figured that since yesterday was June 1st, what better time to start?! So here’s what I have decided to do:

  • Lighten up on the cardio and spend more time weight training and lifting (building the muscle! :P)
  • Eat whatever I want when I’m hungry and don’t worry or feel guilty or bad about it. In other words: Have a positive relationship with food.
  • Don’t punish myself because I “ate to much” or “ate something unhealthy/not clean.”
  • Be positive, happy, and thankful.

So these are essentially my June goals, and I’m planning on continuing on with them long after the month has passed. 🙂

Today is day 2 and I couldn’t be more happy and proud of myself! Yesterday was a rest day — a full rest day — and I did it! I ate what I wanted when I was hungry, didn’t feel the need to workout, and enjoyed the day with my mom. And guess what?! I didn’t feel bad at all! My mom and I did some shopping and I had a fabulous day! Today was my first day of limited cardio. I went to the gym, warmed up for 5 minutes on the bike, weight trained and lifted (lower back and abs) for about 1ish hour, then did 15 minutes on the bike! This was a HUGE step for me because I usually never go on the bike because it doesn’t necessarily burn as many calories as running or the elliptical does. In fact, before, I would always incorporate running in almost every single workout I did, because that burns more calories than the elliptical. But anyway, I feel so proud of my workout today! I am extremely satisfied with it, and I had so much fun! To go along with this, I am also eating what seems like kind of a lot today, but I’m not worried a single bit 🙂 My body needs food for energy so that’s what I’m going to give it!

 

And lastly, I would like to end this post with a picture of my new Converse I got yesterday for lifting! Of course, I wore them today and it only made my workout more awesome. 🙂

20140602-173601-63361889.jpg

So, here’s to starting fresh. 🙂

Leave a Reply

